Guilty But Forgiven

even-smaller-bug-light119 Have you been thinking all along that we have been defending ourselves to you? We have been speaking in the sight of God as those in Christ; and everything we do, dear friends, is for your strengthening. 20 For I am afraid that when I come I may not find you as I want you to be, and you may not find me as you want me to be. I fear that there may be discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, slander, gossip, arrogance and disorder. 21 I am afraid that when I come again my God will humble me before you, and I will be grieved over many who have sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual sin and debauchery in which they have indulged. — 2 Cor. 12:19-21

​Paul’s words here are a strong indictment of the church at Corinth. Their lifestyles reflect little or nothing of the example Jesus and Paul had set for them and for us. It sounds as though Paul is describing the worldly lifestyle and not the lifestyle that would lead us to believe that anyone there was a true follower of Christ. These are Paul’s spiritual children. So, if Paul finds these charges to be true when he arrives, he will be grieved and humbled. Humbled because his children have become an embarrassment to the family of God, Grieved because they have not repented and changed their lifestyles. Instead of repenting, they are rebelling against Paul’s teaching. When the guilty are confronted, it is a normal human reaction to try to place the blame back on the person bringing the accusation. Paul has been speaking the truth so he has no reason to defend himself. Do Paul’s words to the Corinthians describe the church of today?  More importantly, which of the sins listed are we committing in our daily lifestyle? If I am truly honest with my evaluation (and I might as well be honest, since God already knows), maybe just a little of each. Thank you, Lord, for your mercy and your forgiveness.

8 If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us. — 1 John 1:8-10

Post 10-06-2015

Leave a Reply

